James Joyce: riassunto della vita e opere in inglese

riassunto della vita, opere, stile, interpretazioni e analisi di due opere: "Dubliners" e "Ulysses" di James Joyce (3 pagine formato doc)

Appunto di gluttonytheripper


James Joyce (1882-1941)
Life and works - Joyce was born in Dublin in 1882.

During his the course of his studies he demonstrated extraordinary academic ability. He went to Paris  to study medicine but he changes his mind and started to write poems and prose sketches and developing his highly distinctive atheistic theories. After the death of his mother he met Nora Barnacle with whom he leave Ireland and go to the continent.   Joyce worked in Trieste as English teacher and here he had two children.
Joyce published a collection of poetry and after seven years his masterpiece “  Dubliners”. During the world war Joyce go to neutral Switzerland where he saw the publication of some works: his autobiographical novel and his masterpiece “Ulysses” that was declared obscene and banned in Britain and America and was publish only in Paris (1922).

James Joyce: opere principali


In the same time he worked on his experimental novel “Finnegans Wake” to brake completely English syntax and grammar and inventing its own polylinguistic vocabulary. Famously  he said that he wants to keep literary historians busy for the next four hundred years.A portrait of the Artist as a Young Man
Joyce make frequent use of interior monologue, both direct and indirect. Through this technique, the writer almost disappears and readers find themselves directly inside a character’s mind.
Joyce’s stories and novels are characterized by peaks of intensity in the narrator that the writer calls “epiphanies”. An epiphany is a sudden revelation, it is a moment in which thoughts and filings come together to produce a new sudden awareness.  

James Joyce: Dubliners e Ulysses


Dubliners. Joyce’s first short stories were published in a collection called Dubliners. This Collection form a realistic ad highly suggestive portrait of the lives of ordinary people in Dublin. The stories are split in four groups that correspond to four “phases” of life: childhood, adolescence, maturity and public life. A significant theme in all the stories is the feeling of paralysis that many characters feels because they are tied to social tradition. This is also reflected in their relationships inhibited by moral code. Joyce defined Dublin as “the centre of paralysis”. The laste story “the dead” can be considered a culmination of the feeling which characterized the spiritual life of the city.