Gulliver's travels: riassunto

breve riassunto in inglese dei capitoli dell'opera di Swift, "I viaggi di Gulliver" (2 pagine formato doc)

Appunto di davidefazzolari92


Gulliver's Travel.

Gulliver's Travels
is a novel written by Jonathan Swift and it's a satire on human nature and a parody of the "travellers' tales". The book is divided into four parts: in Part One the hero tells of his shipwreck off the island of Lilliput. Here he awakes to find himself a prisoner of a race of very tiny people: the Lilliputians. During his stay he learns about local customs and culture, and about the political system.
Finally he agrees to help the people in their war against another island called Blefuscu, after he returns to England.

The Gulliver's travels: riassunto in inglese


In Part Two Gulliver sets off for India but after a series of misadventures finds himself abandoned by his companions on the island of Brobdingnag whose inhabitants are all giants. The situation of part one is reversed. He is sold to the queen and has some interesting discussions whit the king about political situation in Europe, before returning once again to england.

Gulliver's travels: riassunto


Part Three sees Gulliver land on the amazing flying island of Laputa whit its capital Lagado which is populated by philosophers and scientists. Everyone here is dedicated only to music and mathematics, but are unable to apply these disciplines to practical purposes. While here, he tours the country and sees the ruin brought about by blind pursuit of science without practical results in a satire on the Royal Society and its experiments. Then, from here he journeys to another two islands each whit their own absurdities.

Gulliver's travels: riassunto per capitoli