Washington: riassunto in inglese

Breve riassunto in inglese su Washington (1 pagine formato doc)

Appunto di nada1036


A visit to Washington.

Washington is the capital of the United States.
It is named after George Washington, the first president.
The city was built between 1790 – 1800.
The government is divided into three branches: executive, legislative and judicial.

The WHITE HOUSE is the home of the president; it was painted white to cover the marks of the fire of the independence war (1814).
The president is the leader of the country and the head of the armed forces.


The United States. The CAPITOL is the building where Congress (American Parliament) meets.
Congress consist of:
-    the Senate (100 members, 2 for each state);
-    the House of Representatives (435 members, a different number for each state).
It discusses and passes new laws.
The Supreme Court Building is the place where the 9 judges of Supreme Court meet.
They decide if the action of the president or new laws are against the Constitution.
They can put impeachment the people.