Government in Britain

Breve descrizione in lingua inglese dell'ordinamento politico del Regno Unito (5 pagine formato doc)

Appunto di ricca1966

We often say "England" when we talk about the British isles, but it is only one of four countries: Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland and England.
Wales, Scotland and England form the Great Britain. Great Britain and Northern Ireland form the United Kingdom.

In Scotland there is a separate Scottish Parliament. In Wales and in Northern Ireland there are separate Assemblies.


The United Kingdom is a monarchy which means that a king or queen is head of State. Elizabeth II° has been Queen since 1953 and she can trace her royal line back for more than a thousand years.
Nowadays, the Queen has no real power and she can't make any laws herself, but she still has special duties to perform.